Life · Milford

Father’s Day Weekend

Well another holiday has come and gone and it was a pretty good one at that.  Well honestly it didn’t start off that way.  Friday night after leaving Mom for the evening I headed to GG’s Restaurant for a large pizza.  I went home not realizing I didn’t have my ID holder that had everything in it.  When I went looking for it the next morning I couldn’t find it.  I tore the house apart.  I decided to give up and get over to Mom before it was got too late.  Happily after my visit I went to the restaurant to look around.  The owner and or manager was in the back getting a suntan and so I asked him if he found it and it turns out that one of his waitresses handed it in.

 

Just as I was arriving home Saturday afternoon Liz called me and invited me to the Norwalk Maritime Center with her and her kids.  It was a lot of fun.  We even got to feed Lorikeets and I even got “blessed” by one.  Poor Audrey got it literally in her eye.  She came to me to get it cleared out.  I felt ten feet tall.  We had dinner at TGIF Friday’s and had a great time.  When we got back to the house we made plans to go see Mom.  I would go first while Liz had some things to do and then go.

 

The visit was great we talked and had fun and then we left.  By the time I got home I was exhausted and got ready for bed.  It actually is becoming the usual blur.  I do remember hearing the fireworks from the harbor.  The harbor is about five to six miles away from the house.

 

Sunday I went to the nursing home early and MOm had her PT.  I stayed with her until it was time for bingo.  I had to drop stuff off at her room before going.  I did bingo and chatted with Natalie and then I think I said goodbye to Mom.  My original plan was to go to the parade that afternoon.  Instead I slept and did some other things.  I had my final visit with Mom for the day with some requests from Jim.   Liz and Nelson were there I think…yes we were all there.  They talked about the parade and I finished Mom lobster roll dinner that Nelson and Liz got.

 

All in all it was a great one all around.

Leave a Reply

