Dear Mom August 26, 2014

Dear Mom,

Today is going to be tough.  I had gotten a text from Liz that she also sent to Jim regarding some details for the funeral.  It came around 3 this morning and I was unable to get back to sleep.    I decided to get up and put the clothes in the dryer, empty the dishwasher and move some of the dishes back to their original cabinets.  Apparently Georgina moved dishes around while she was here.  She also left a glass of hers here too.  Not complaining here.

I know this isn’t something you want to know you may already but there have been moments of disagreements on some aspects of your funeral.  I know you wanted a program for the service and I know you made arrangements with JM but the church doesn’t want them.  We originally all said that we wouldn’t do it out of respect for the priest.  It looks like we may not  do it.  Its basically between your two eldest children and I am stuck in the middle.  Although DB has said don’t let myself be in the middle.

We have almost have all the medical equipment out of the house (not the commode or walkers those are our purchases) but the Oxygen and the mattress and wheelchair.  The bed frame itself will be removed on Friday.  It would be too hectic in the next couple of days.

We received some more lovely cards today.  One was a mass card.  We received a lovely fruit basket from Rosa.  

I brought the citations and awards and your glasses to the funeral home today.  I spoke to Mrs. Smith and she was very nice.  After that I headed to the car wash and got the car so cleaned you would be amazed.  After that I went to the store and got a quick lunch.  I probably should have skipped it because I had dinner over Liz and Nelson’s house.

We had pork chops and pasta and salad and canlies brought by a friend of theirs I haven’t seen in quite some time.  I stayed until about 7:30 I was getting tired and I wanted to come home to see tonight’s episode of NCIS (it was Honor thy Father).

Well I am going to bed now.  I have to get up early tomorrow and iron the dresses I will be wearing for the services and pick up a case of water for the wake.  I also need to vacuum the house before anyone arrives.

Be well Mom,

Kate

Leave a Reply

